When it comes to your Discord account, deleting it is a comprehensive process that requires careful consideration due to the 14-day waiting period.
Make sure you have all the necessary information backed up, as messages you’ve sent won’t be deleted but will appear as sent from a “deleted user”. For the overall Discord experience, leaving a server can be an appropriate choice if you’re no longer enjoying your time in it.
Discord servers are the heartbeats of your online communities. While Discord is celebrated for its user-friendly interface and feature-rich environment, understanding how to delete Discord server isn’t always as straightforward as creating one.
If you’re the owner or creator of a Discord server and it’s time to part ways, we’re here to guide you through the process. But a word of caution: deleting a server is an irreversible action. Once done, there’s no turning back, and all your server’s data, channels, and members will be permanently gone.
In this article, we’ll equip you with knowledge about the deletion of a Discord server safely and efficiently. We’ll discuss the step-by-step procedure, precautions to take, and alternative options if you’re hesitant to let go completely.
Table of Contents
- 1 What Happens When You Delete a Discord Server?
- 2 How to Delete Discord Server
- 3 Conclusion
- 3.1 Can anyone delete a Discord server?
- 3.2 Is there a way to keep people from accidentally deleting a Discord server?
- 3.3 Can you give someone your server on Discord?
- 3.4 Why can’t I delete a Discord server?
- 3.5 Should you remove members before deleting a Discord server?
- 3.6 Can you change the name of a Discord server?
- 3.7 How do I delete my Discord server on mobile?
- 3.8 How do I completely delete Discord?
- 3.9 How do I delete a Discord server without permission?
- 3.10 How long does it take to delete a Discord?
- 3.11 Can a Discord server get deleted?
- 3.12 Why can't I leave a server in Discord?
- 3.13 Why can't I delete my Discord account?
- 3.14 Why can't I fully delete Discord?
- 3.15 Does deleting Discord delete everything?
- 3.16 Do inactive Discord servers get deleted?
- 3.17 Do disabled Discord accounts get deleted?
- 3.18 Do I have to wait 14 days to delete my Discord account?
- 3.19 Is the Discord server permanent?
- 3.20 What happens to a deleted Discord?
- 3.21 Does Discord show when you screenshot?
- 3.22 Is it OK to leave a Discord server?
What Happens When You Delete a Discord Server?
Not everyone can delete a Discord server.
The option to delete a Discord server is limited to the server owner. When a server owner decides to delete a server, it will disappear from the Discord client for everyone without any prior warning. The server members will not be able to access the old messages on a deleted server. It’s also worth mentioning that removing a Discord server is an irreversible process. You will not be able to restore the server once you choose to delete it.
If you want to make a fun video for your server members but don’t know how to extract an audio, then check our guide about How to extract audio from a video in CapCut.
How to Delete Discord Server
Method 1 – How to Delete Discord Servers From a Browser
If you use Discord on a PC, you’re either using the browser or the company’s official app. If you don’t want to deal with a Discord boot-up, follow these steps to delete a server.
Login at Discord
- Go to Discord’s official website and select “Open Discord in your browser” from the main page.
- Enter your login credentials and solve the captcha or bot test to proceed.
Select a Server
- Locate the server you want to delete by using the column on the left side of the page and click on it.
- Navigate to the top of the appearing screen where the server’s name is showing up and click on it to open a drop-down menu.
- Search for the “Server Settings” option and choose it.
Locate “Delete Server” in Discord Server Settings
- Scroll all the way to the bottom until you see an area labeled “Delete Server”.
Delete the Server
- When you click on “Delete Server”, a new message should appear.
- You’ll have to put in the name of your server you want to delete, but don’t click on Delete until you are sure of your decision.
- Once you have done, the server and all the messages will be deleted.
Method 2 – How to Delete Discord Servers from the Mobile App
Deleting a Discord server from the mobile app is as easy as removing one from the web. Instead of clicking, you simply need to tap.
Open the Discord App
- On your smartphone or tablet, find the Discord app and tap it to open the Discord.
- Log in with your password and email/phone number if you’re not already logged in.
Locate the Server
- In the app, look on the left side of the page and you’ll see a list of servers you’ve joined.
- Scroll through the list until you see the server you want to delete.
- Long-press on the server icon to open a new menu and choose “More Options”.
Access Discord Server Settings
- After the new menu opens, choose the Setting icon from the option on the right to bring up a full list of settings.
- At the top of the screen, tap on “Overview”.
Delete Discord Server
- The Overview section gives you access to the main settings users see when they enter your server. It’s also where you delete servers using the mobile app.
- Look at the bottom of the screen for the “Delete Server” button and tap it to delete the Discord server.
Method 3 – Using the Server Settings
Open the Discord Server
- Select the Discord server you created within the app.
Select Server Name
- Once it’s opened, select the name of the server at the top of Discord, adjacent to the Home button.
Choose Server Settings Field
- Choose the “Server settings” field.
Select Delete Server
- Look for “Delete server” adjacent to the bin icon.
Enter Server Name to Confirm
- Discord will require you to enter the name of your server.
- Select the “Delete server” button. Remember that the process is irreversible.
- If you have enabled two-factor authentication, Discord will request the 2FA code from your authenticator app.
That’s it! This covers the three methods for deleting a Discord server. Make sure to proceed with caution, as server deletion is an irreversible action.
We have discussed the ways to delete a Discord server. Whether you’re a server owner or a member, understanding the process of deleting servers and managing your account is crucial. Only server owners possess the authority to delete a server, and this action is irreversible. Adding an extra layer of protection through two-factor authentication (2FA) is a wise choice to prevent accidental deletions. Additionally, transferring ownership can be a suitable alternative if you no longer wish to manage a server.